The Evil Dead (1981): Video Nasties, Misspent Youth and the Ultimate Experience in Grueling Horror

Click here to go directly to this article at its new home at Cinematic Shocks.

4 Responses to “The Evil Dead (1981): Video Nasties, Misspent Youth and the Ultimate Experience in Grueling Horror”

  1. […] I wrote The Evil Dead (1981): Video Nasties, Misspent Youth, and the Ultimate Experience in Grueling Horror, and Dark Ride (2006), and the Fall of the Slasher, I did not name check ‘Nightmares in a Damaged […]

  2. ANDY NICK Says:

    OK, do some more research and some more notable movie references before posting some mediocre Evil Dead article than what is already obviously scored from the Evil Dead Companion!!!

    • I wrote from my own personal knowledge of the film and I did plenty of secondary research.

      Notable movie references“: Well the title of the article is ‘Videos Nasties, ‘Misspent Youth and the Ultimate Experience in Grueling Horror’. Every movie I touched upon in the first two parts is indeed notable when talking about the history of video nasties in the United Kingdom (including ‘The Evil Dead’) and accounting my own personal experiences with the genre when talking about the horror I grew up watching. All the titles listed in the conclusion are also notable when comparing ‘The Evil Dead’ to those culturally significant films which it also is.

      Oh, and unfortunately I do not own the ‘Evil Dead Companion’. I wish did because I would have had more research at my disposal. I make do with what I’ve got being a British expat living in Thailand and the difficulties I have in getting stuff sent here from Amazon and EBay.

      Mediocre Evil Dead article“: If you think you can write a better article on ‘The Evil Dead’ or any other horror film then send it to me and I will publish it if it meets standards. Since I posted this piece about ten months ago the majority of feedback for it on horror movie forums has been very positive and this is the first negative response I’ve had. I can take criticism but I find it just laughable when people make criticisms in such a trolling way. Your opinions are ill founded – you are completely wrong on all the points you have made.

Leave a Reply

